Papers Update and Rough Day

Today has been a pretty rough day.  Why, you might ask?  I had three tests today, two of which were finals–one a written Hebrew final the other my final for my Current Issues in Arab Media class.  The third was a listening test for Arabic about the state of the Egyptian stock market.  The main problem arose in that I somehow scheduled my OPI (Oral Proficiency Interview) at the same time as my Hebrew class.  I don’t know exactly how this happened, but I set up my interview with my professor for 10:30 more than a week ago.  I have had the time and date written on my hand since then.  I do not know how I didn’t realize that I had set it up at the same time that my Hebrew class starts everyday.

I did not discover my mistake until around ten this morning when I was at work.  Then it just hit me and I instantly became more sick than I already was (I get so nervous for my orals that I always become physically ill).  I broke out in a cold sweat.  When I got off work, I rushed to my Hebrew classroom.  I sat outside flashing Arabic vocab, waiting for my teacher to show up so I could explain the situation.  I waited until twenty-five after; she had not shown up by then.  I told one of my classmates to tell her that something had come up and that I would be late to class.  I then hied myself to a different building on campus for my oral.  It did not go as well as I would have liked.  Despite the fact that I spent hours the past few days memorizing hundreds of words on three broad news topics, I got in there and “um-ed” my way through.  Of course my professor picked my worst topic of the three (conflict and terrorism).  I knew all the words, but I was so stressed that I couldn’t think clearly.  I was probably rambling and did not do anywhere near as well as I would have liked, but I am confident that I passed.

I then ran (literally) to my Hebrew class.  I had not really studied for it.  At all.  I had been too busy cramming Arabic vocab to be troubled with Hebrew grammar.  Anyways, despite being more than fifteen minutes late, I was still able to finish all of the final and was not even the last one done.  I then came home and did my Arabic homework, walked back to school for Arabic class, took my listening test (on which , of course, I did not do as well as I would have liked).  Now I am at home and am procrastinating writing a Hebrew essay and making/memorizing German flashcards.  SO, all in all today was not the best.  At least I’m not crying.  Haha.

In better news, my papers are so close to being done!  Things that I know have left to do: take/upload a photo, schedule/have a physical and go to the dentist.  I finished all of the rest of the written stuff and even have a dental appointment scheduled.  Huzzah!  Thoughts of my mission will cheer me up.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Mission Papers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

