Busy, Busy, Busy

This has been such a hectic week!  This coming week is finals, but as it turns out, mine are all done!  I had my last German test on Tuesday, then on Wednesday I my take-home Arabic final was due (I ended up getting a 49/50, so I am pretty stoked about that!) and I was pretty stressed about it, additionally, my fifteen minute final presentation for Arabic was also on Wednesday (19/20, no complaints about that either).  Oh, and on Wednesday morning I slipped on some stairs on my way to work, badly sprained my ankle and  cut my opposite knee so badly that I bled through my pants in several places.

I was so tired and stressed, that I contemplated putting laying my head back down in the puddle in which I found myself, closing my eyes and forgetting the world.  Not very practical, especially since I was in the middle of campus.  And there was a group of guys right there the whole time.  Great.  As someone who has experienced several sprained ankles in their life as a result of physical sports, I knew that this was a pretty bad one.  I managed to stand up, but I didn’t know how I was going to walk.  I felt total despair.  “Not today, not now,” I thought.  “I cannot make it through this right now.”

And then I distinctly heard the words, “Walk and be healed.”  Sharing that with others sounds way cheesy and a little unbelievable, but I swear that it is true.  I then walked to work and went about my activities and made it through the day.  Was I still in a lot of pain?  Yes.  Was my ankle still so swollen that I had such bad kankles that you couldn’t see my ankle bone?   Yes.  For that matter, is my ankle even now still swollen and black and blue?  Yes.  But at that moment, the Lord gave me what I needed.  He healed me enough.  Ultimately, He always gives us enough to support us through our trials.  He may not take away all of our pain and suffering, but He takes away enough that we can make it through and see His hand in our lives.  What a miracle this was for me in a crazy and stressful week, to be reminded that my Heavenly Father is aware of me and my needs in all things.

The rest of the week went pretty well.  Yesterday was my first Saturday in ten weeks without any homework or studying!  It was so nice to lounge about and read for fun.  I have much studying that I need to do before the next quarter–my last–begins.  But it could wait.  So I messed around did a woodland-fairy style photo shoot with Mel and then went out to dinner with Tayler.

I had so much fun with Tayes!  I lover her so much!  I did not love the restaurant where we ate.  For example:  Me: “these noodle-type things look like little snakes!”  We both pop some in our mouth.  A strong, strong, STRONG taste of fish washes over my mouth.  Tayler:  “This tastes really fishy.”  I look at the ones left in the bowl–there is a reason they looked like little snakes.  Me:  “Tayler, I think these are whole little fish.  There eyes are staring at me from this bowl.”  We both gag and try to finish choking them down.  One gets stuck in my throat.  I don’t have anything with which to wash it down, as they only gave us tea to drink.  Oh, and my man dish was squid.  Tasted okay until I dissected it and observed all of the blood vessels. . .

I am totally going Asian.  I think this is a sign.  Oh gosh.

In other news, today was an awesome sacrament meeting and then we came home and Mel took my mission photo.  I’ll put it down below.  Now all I have left are the medical appointments.  Dentist is a week from this Tuesday.  Still need to set up the doctor’s.  Oh boy.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Mission Papers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. mel says:

    jenessa!!! it WAS a sign!!! and you didn’t just go asian – you really went korean!!!!!!!

    love it.

    love you. miss you.

    ❤ mel

Leave a Reply

