Blood, TB, Home, Dentist, Submission

As you can guess by the title of this post, I have a lot to cover to get you, dear reader, caught up with what has happened over the past week. 

When last I posted, I had been to the doctor.  I have since been back to the doctor to get my blood drawn (for the first time).  I was told that it would sting/hurt, but mostly the little rubber tourniquet thingy hurt a whole lot and left bruising–the actual needle business didn’t hurt one bit.  Not that I am saying that this is something I want done all the time.

On Friday (blood work was on Thursday) I returned to the doctor’s office to get my PPD (the injection that tests if you have TB) read.  Shock of shocks, I do not have tuberculosis.  I have not heard anything back about any of my lab work, which I am taking as a good sign.  I am still going to keep my fingers crossed on that front, however.

On Friday night I had my big work party over which I have been stressing for quite some time.  Out of the 25ish or so girls invited, only one showed up.  I was rather pissed.  Still am, actually.  Saturday made up for it.  Tayler and I drove to Marysville just for funsies because it was such a beautiful day.  Then I went with Melina, Tayler, Jeanette and Joylyn to the roller derby as a belated birthday party type thing.  Let me just say, that roller derby rocks my socks off in about a dozen different ways.  After the mission, I am becoming a roller derby queen.  Heck yes!

We then came back to my place and kicked it for a while.  Talking way too late into the night.  I love those ladies so much.  We have tons of fun together.

Sunday was great.  Church was pretty solid and Connie came home with us from Church and spent the whole afternoon with us.  We talked and ate, had a wonderful chat with the most adorable young married couple of Jehovah’s Witnesses who were out doing missionary work.  They declined our lunch invitation, but we were able to pawn some left-over princess cupcakes on them.  They were so nice and I admire their diligence and their willingness to serve the Lord as best as they are able with the knowledge that they have been given.

In the evening I went with Jeanette and Tayes to a fireside at the stake center about missionary work–not in the traditional sense but about how we can use Christian fellowship and service as well as mediums like the internet to help the Church reflect back on the Savior and his teachings.  The fireside was given by Scott and Annette Bowen, the co-directors for the Greater Seattle Public Affairs Council for the Church.  They are super legit!  The thing that really stuck out to me that they said was, “If every person in the world had one good Mormon friend, then the Church would not have and bad press.”  It really made me think about the kind of friend I am especially towards my friends who are not of my faith and what kind of representative I am for the Church.

They also told some wonderfully uplifting stories and gave great ideas about how we can further the Lord’s work in very small and simple ways.  It was so legit and I, of course, cried a fair share.  Haha.  Tayler, Jeanette and I had the opportunity to talk to them after the fireside and they are just so freakin’ cool.  They are the kind of people who I aspire to be after I am retired.  They literally fill their days in the service of their God.  Such a good example.

Oh, side note:  on Sunday I also had the opportunity to talk with Sister Hughes’ mom the elder Sister Hughes.  I love Sister Hughes (the younger) so much.  I cannot believe that she has only been in our ward two weeks.  I feel like I know her so well and I have so much love for her.  She is such a great missionary.  Oh!  That reminds me.  I got to be the fellowship for a lesson that Sister Hughes and Sister Lee taught on Saturday.  It was for this young guy named Pamba.  It was so awesome.  It was one of the best lessons that I have ever had the privilege of witnessing.  It was their first lesson with him and he did not know much about Christ.  He and his family are Buddhists, so it was really cool to watch the Sisters tell him about the Savior and our loving Heavenly Father.  He was so golden, too.  He kept asking for specific things that he could do to “make this happen.”  He asked about baptism and wants to be baptized.  The Sisters put him on date for the something-th of April (I forgot the exact date).  He then gave the closing prayer, even though he had never prayed in our fashion before.  It was one of the most beautiful and humble prayers that I have ever heard.  Remembering it now is making me get a little teary.  He was so earnest and so full of gratitude.  The Spirit was so strong it was almost choking.  SO LEGIT!

Anyways, on Sunday I got to call Sister Hughes’ mom to tell her that P-day was changed last-minute so her daughter wouldn’t be emailing her and that she shouldn’t worry when she didn’t receive an email on Monday.  I can see where Sister Hughes (the younger) gets some of her awesomeness.  Her mom is the sweetest, friendliest lady.  It was really cool to talk to her and give her some updates on her daughter.  Man, I love missionaries.

Longest blog ever!  Sorry, there’s more.

So on Monday, I went back to Yakima with my dad so I could go to the dentist on Tuesday.  It was great to see my mom and Duncan, Annabelle and Persephone (the dog and cats respectively).  It was really nice to feel the love that resides in my parents home and be reminded of how much they love each other and me and Melina.  We had fun.

What was not fun was the dental appointment.  I haven’t had one in six years. . .  They told me, “your teeth look beautiful, but there are some problems.”  Sigh.  I have six cavities.  Holy cow!  I brush my teeth more than twice every day and floss at least once daily, but it is apparently not enough.  My mom is of the opinion that I inherited my dad’s soft teeth; little consolation.  So I have to go back in May for a full day of dental appointments–this means that I will miss a full day of school and work.  Crap.  This sucks.  I have never missed a full day of classes in college.  I am rather terrified of missing both a Hebrew class and an Arabic class.  Ah teeth, you have failed me!  But, as my mom said, it could be worse.  At least I hae teeth.

The rest of Tuesday was fine.  My daddy and I spent most of it working on a puzzle.  I also got to do one of my most favorite activities in the world:  cuddle with my mommy.  We also double and triple checked everything and then I submitted my papers!!!  Now all I need are my interviews with the bishop and stake president (assuming that nothing was wrong with the lab work).  So close!  SO excited!!!

Papa and I headed back to Seattle early this morning as I have to work tomorrow and Friday.  It is great to be home and back with Mel.  There is so much to do before school starts!  I should really hop to it!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Mission Papers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

