Roller Derby

This has nothing at all to do with my mission (as long as I don’t get seriously hurt because of my obsession, but I am getting head of myself. . .).  I am so freakin’ in love with roller derby.  To the point that I bought derby skates and pads, etc.  Fortunately, Jeanette and Mel are just as hardcore crazy about it as I am.  We all have skates and gear, haha.  Jeanette actually plans on trying out for the Rat City Rollergirls, the local derby league here, in July. 

The problem is that we all currently suck at skating.  Well, I don’t know about Mel, but I am assuming she does too.  We just picked up her quads today, so she hasn’t used them yet.  Jeanette and I went skating yesterday.  And almost died.  Even a slight incline can spell disaster.  So freakin’ fast!  We biffed it.  Totally.  On the upside, we at least got to try out our knee pads and wrist guards.  Tonight we are all going to Roller King, which is a skating rink in Bellevue.  Hopefully we can work on our (lack of) skills.

This probably seems a little random and perhaps ridiculous, but we are so serious about this.  We spent all morning watching derby tutorials on youtube and we watched the movie “Whip It” as well.

I am hoping that I can get really good and gain some mad skills and technique before my mission, so that I can come back and try out for a league.  I can’t imagine anything cooler than body-checking other girls at high speeds.  I love physical contact sports!  Wish us luck, I think that we’re going to need it.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

