One Step Closer

Today I had my final interview with the bishop.  Have I mentioned that I love Bishop Sanborn?  Because I totally do.  He always makes me feel so good about myself and my choices and who/what I am and what I am doing with my life, etc. (sorry for the excessive “and”s in that sentence!).  After we concluded the interview, he told me that I was his hero.  It made me laugh!  And maybe tear up a bit too, haha.

The interview was short and pretty straight forward.  No probing purity/worthiness questions this time around.  Mostly we just chatted.  Bishop makes me feel so at ease!  It is so easy to talk with him.  He asked me questions like, “Are you prepared to use your testimony to persuade people as to the truthfulness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ?”, “Are you ready to work your skinny little but off?” (direct quote–not lying) and then he asked if I was prepared to serve wherever I was called.  I answered in the affirmative for all of them. 

He then asked if I would prefer to go to a different culture and noted that I had said on my papers that I thought I would be extremely successful with a foreign language.  I said that I would be happy to serve wherever I was called.  He then asked, “If a General Authority called you up and said that you had the choice to serve in either Leningrad or Sacramento, which would you pick?”  I of course responded with Leningrad.

He said that he thought as much and that he strongly felt that I would do remarkably well serving in a different culture.  He added that he would be writing that on my recommendation.  He said that he wasn’t sure if it would have any bearing at all on my call, or if the General Authority assigning me would even look at it, but he strongly felt that he should include.  This of course made me very happy.

So now it is just a waiting game.  The bishop will mail the papers with his recommendation to the stake president.  Then I will wait for the executive secretary to call me to set up my interview with him.  Then it is more waiting around for my call.  It might still be a couple of months!  I can hardly wait!!!

But, I am one step closer and my testimony in priesthood leaders has increased.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Mission Papers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Step Closer

  1. Megs says:

    I totally agree…Bishop Sanborn is way awesome and has a way of putting me at ease when I feel troubled by something. You’re one step closer!!! Love you and good luck 🙂

    • gwenogjones says:

      Thanks, megs. I appreciate your support. I also appreciate the fact that you are sitting next to me on the couch and still saw fit to comment on a blog, the topic of which I had already related to you in greater detail. Haha, I love you!

Leave a Reply

