Final Final

Done. Today I took my final final, at least as an undergraduate. It feels so surreal and hasn’t really set in yet. No more tests, homework or classes. From the time I was five and in preschool, my whole life has been arranged around school and my studies. Now it’s all gone. I’ve been looking forward to graduating for years, but now that it is here, I feel strangely empty and lost. What will I do? What is my life without being a student? What have I accomplished? What am I doing with my life?! I am going on a mission. Yes, but I still feel so. . . out at sea, I suppose. How do I define myself now? What does my degree get me?

As I was writing my last final, I was very grateful that it was for Arabic–the whole reason why I came to UW three years ago. After I was done, I looked back on the pages of Arabic and couldn’t believe that I had learned so much of this language. But then I realized I know about as much as a six year-old–if a six year-old knew the names of very few household items but could talk about “developing bilateral economic cooperation” (no joke, that was one of my vocab phrases). In essence, I know nothing.

Other than that, the day was pretty good. I went to lunch and gelato with Tayler, sat in on the sisters’ lesson with a guy who is getting baptized tomorrow and went with Joylyn, Heather and Katie to Melina’s production of “Fiddler on the Roof.” So many cute kids! And it was gorgeous. And warm! So I guess I can’t complain. I’ll figure it all out later, but for now it is enough to go to bed and know that I don’t need to stress about assignments, tests, presentations or pulling all-nighters.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Final Final

  1. Kristin says:

    JENESSA!! I didn’t know you had a blog! But now I know, so you’re stuck with me! YOU’RE GOING ON A MISSION? There’s so much I don’t know about your life!!!! Please make time to see me when we’re in Seattle. We’ll be there on the 22nd of this month! Congrats on being DONE.

    • gwenogjones says:

      How did you find this? I haven’t told anyone about it! And yes, I am going on a mission. Also haven’t really told anyone about that either. Just waiting for the mission call. I was hoping to get it this week, but that was rather optimistic. Fingers crossed for next week.

      And I will totally make time for you!!!!!! Please, please, please! I want to see you in my life!!!

  2. Kristin says:

    Oh, Jenessa. I have my stalkerish ways. Don’t want to give away too much! I will get on sending an invite out to everyone within the next week so you’ll know where we are so that we can see each other. I really miss you!

    • gwenogjones says:

      Teach me your ways!!!!! Also, I started reading your blog–loving it! It is so. . . Kristin. Which is a very good thing. I miss you and your crazy antics! I am super excited to see you!

Leave a Reply

