Less Than a Week

Sister Jenessa Mirae Markland
MTC Mailbox # 161
KOR-BUS 1122
2005 N 900 E
Provo, UT 84604-1793

That’s where you can reach me as of this coming Wednesday.  I just got it emailed to me today.  In the email, it mentioned some things that I feel are incumbent upon me to share: 

“All missionary mail must come through the US Mail or commercial delivery services.  These services should not be used to send pizzas, fast foods, ice-cream, or any items that will spoil if they are not refrigerated within 24 hours.  Missionaries are not called out of class to receive packages, nor do they have access to a refrigerator.  For security reasons, we cannot accept any items delivered by hand.”

In case any of you were intending to mail me ice cream.  Sorry, no cone-ing will be taking place while I am at the MTC.

In other news, I gave my farewell talk on Sunday in the University ward.  It was rather a tragedy of errors, the whole morning, not just the talk.  However, I dont’ want to recall all of that in a year and a half, so I won’t record it.  My parents then arranged a lovely open house.  I was surprised with the turn out and felt an out pouring of love.  It was quite delightful.  My mom worked very hard on a lovely assortment of refreshments and Cassie unexpectedly showed up with cards upon which she had written headings and pens, so that people could write advice, etc. to me.  It was very thoughtful and reading the cards later made me alternately laugh and cry.

I then moved back home.  It’s been. . .  weird.  But it has been so nice to spend time with my parents, especially my mom, who I don’t see as often.  It has been really weird not to go to work, I don’t quite know what to do with myself.  Shopping, mostly.  A whole lot of shopping.  I hate shopping.  And I am still not done. 

On Tuesday, we drove out to Selah to go visit my grandma.  I just love her so much.  I think that since my grandpa died a couple of years ago, she has been pretty lonely.  I think she feels slightly useless.  Not that she is in the least, just that is how I think she is feeling.  She wanted so badly to serve us and do something for us, especially my dad, her little boy.  I think she asked him at least ten times if she could make him a ham sandwich or something.  It was very cute, but a little sad.  I felt so bad when we left and she was standing barefoot outside looking oh so very much frail and alone.

Yesterday afternoon, my mom and I went to my mom’s cousin Linda’s for lunch.  She is just the cutest, feistiest most delightful woman.  We had a grand time and she generously contributed to my mission fund.  Later in the evening, I went out with my bff Liz and our other good friend Mindy.  We are the most indecisive people in the world!  It took us forever to figure out what to do with ourselves.  We ended up going out to a restaurant to eat, after which two of us (myself included) got sick, having forgotten that we always get sick after going to this particular establishment.  I still had a good time with the girls, despite that.  We are such big nerds and spent waaaaayyyy too much time discussing weird Harry Potterisms and describing our perfect fictitious men.

Today, my daddy and I drove back to Seattle to pack up the last of my belongings.  Liz has a doctor’s appointment over here today, so the Smith’s drove their big diesel truck over, so that we could move my big furniture back, like my bed.  While Dad and Mel are cleaning and packing up my stuff (I was surprised how much “crap” I have!), I have been trying to take care of all the emails and other such computerish things that I must do. 

It is getting down to crunch time and I am getting more and more scared.  Excited, but scared.  I imagine that the next time I blog will be from the MTC.  Adieu until then.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day, Mission Call and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

