Teaching

Teaching in Korean when you don’t speak it is hard.  Really, really hard.  We make fools of ourselves at every opportunity.  Last week we were teaching our “investigator” how to pray, but we didn’t know how to explain it, so we made a chart.  At the end of the week our “investigator” became our second teacher. He told us that he showed the diagram we made to his parent via skype and now it is in his journal.  That made us feel good.
 
I got several letters and emails this week.  Thank you all so much!!!! 
 
I fortunately did not give my talk on faith in Church this Sunday and I am really hoping that I don’t get asked to bear my testimony, but if I do, I will manage somehow, I’m sure.  Ten seconds left.  Love you all.  The Church is true.
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teaching

  1. amiraalia says:

    My father served in Korea and he said he couldn’t speak Korean until the last six months of his mission. He said upon leaving the mtc, and telling his teacher that he didn’t even know how to say anything, the teacher told him he probably wouldn’t know for a long time. So get used to it. I hope it comes faster for you…but my father is really intelligent…so I’d expect some difficulty. They probably sent you there because you’ve shown yourself capable of learning hard languages!! Miss you! p.s. Pyramids are amazing. But I was craving kimchi all last month. So you’re one up on me there.

Leave a Reply

