Prayer

Prayer is something that is really important to all of us, especially to missionaries. I feel that prayer is very sacred. This has caused me some problems. I must confess, that I never thought that I would receive negative pressure at the MTC of all places because of how I view my relationship with my Heavenly Father and our sacred form of communication.

Less than two minutes, so long story short: our teachers have asked us repeatedly to pray about and for our “investigators.” I have refused. Our investigators are really our teachers acting a part. I am not going to make a mockery of prayer by praying for an actor playing a part. I don’t have a problem praying for the Spirit or to be inspired. I’ve been made to cry several times by both my teachers and their boss about this. Yet I don’t feel it is right.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer

  1. Irene Smith says:

    Hang in there, Adorable Girl.
    You will be praying for your own real investigators with strong and humble intent soon enough. Perhaps this experience will fix in your memory how important it is to ask Father’s assistance for you and the people you teach (right people at the right moment). Every difficulty teaches us something. Love you!

Leave a Reply

