Cupcakes, Ghetto Korean and Full Visor Rain Bonnet for Bouffant Hairstyles

This has been a pretty good week, friends!  We have one of our “investigators” on date for the Saturday before we leave, Korean grammar is pretty awesome and I’ve been feeling a little more able to express what I want to in Korean.  Also, Poy Poy (Sister Foy–there’s no “f” in Korean, so she is “Sister Poy,” but I just call her Poy Poy) is finally better and can actually talk again.
 
Also, yesterday I got the most delightful surprise in the form of a half dozen gourmet cupcakes from Liz.  They were beautiful–my teacher took a picture of them.  Since Poy Poy can’t eat gluten, there was enough for all of the Sisters in the class, plus Brother Tanner, who is our teacher at that time.  They were epic.  Liz is everyone’s new favorite person.
 
Last week, we also got the new Hanguk Saram (The missionaries from Korea going to Korea who come for three weeks and then will leave with my district).  There are four Sisters and three Elders.  They are so adorable.  Our branch is now 18 Sisters and 7 Elders.  Still weird.  Anyway, on Saturday night, we discovered that I can speak ghetto Korean like nobody’s biz-nass.  The Sisters in my room made me do it so many time!  I wasn’t sure what the Korean Sisters would think, but they love it!  Every time they see me they start trying to talk in ghetto Korean…but they can’t really do it, so it is really, really funny.
 
On Friday, my companion and my bestie companionship (Sister Bauer and Sister Washburn who are part of the “Seoul Sisters”) came up to me and said “Merry Christmas” in a Korean accent.  They then gave me a clear package present with the same written on it in Korean.  What was the precious gift which they bestowed upon me?  Why, it was a Rain Bonnet with Full Visor (for drip protection), speciffically designed for bouffant hairstyles.  Oh, thanks.  Cuz they know that I be rockin’ the large hair up in front.  Kamsamneeda!  Really?  I actually loved it.

 
Well, that is all the time that I have for now.  I love you strong.  You know I’m gonna love you long.  Don’t be stupid, people.  Don’t be stupid.
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

