Transfers, Snow and My 26th Birthday

Well, transfer calls came. And in a shocking twist that nobody saw coming, I am staying in Daegu with Sister Oaks, but Sister Brady got transferred down to Busan and we additionally got a new companion–Sister Choo from Seoul. She was at the MTC with me for a little while. She is cute and adorable. She has Marfan’s Syndrome (think Abraham Lincoln) so she is very tall and skinny and has to take things slow because of her heart, but she is so super legit and I love her.

Sorry, this will be quick, because I don’t have time. We came down to Busan for exchanges (we left our house at 6:30 this morning) and we have to catch a train back home really soon. We had snow in Daegu yesterday–gross. This morning everything was icy and cold and nasty. But it was still beautiful and it was pretty to watch it fall. We had a New Year’s party last night with several ward members at a member’s house. It was also a goodbye Sister Brady/Elder Babcock (who also got transfered) party. There was a lot of singing and merry-making, even though it wasn’t the real New Year’s in Korea, which is based on the lunar calendar, not the Roman calendar. But, because it was New Year’s, everyone in the country became a year older, thus I became 26. You might be wondering why I turned 26 and not 25 and that is because Koreans start numbering birthdays at 1 not 0, so I became 25 when I first came to the country. Weird.

Okay, I really have to run, but I love you all and sent some letters today–I’ll send more next week.

Take care, I love you all. The Church is true!
Jenessa

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

