The Korean Language

Is very practical. It is beautiful in its own way, but more than anything I would say it is practical. When I am translating lesson plan(which I am required to do for certification), often what takes ten words in English only takes about four in Korean. It isn’t a frilly language.

Let me illustrate this point: (forgive the “How I Met Your Mother” allusion) In Japanese, the place where you go to sing into a microphone with friends, etc. is called “karaoke” which means “empty orchestra.” Hauntingly beautiful, no? In Korean, that same place is called either “a singing room” or “a singing practice room.” Very practical. They call things what they are. Another example: “voice” in Korean is literally “throat sound.”

Why am I telling you this?

A few weeks ago in English class, one of our members (who is adorable–he is about 12, but had to have his growth hormone removed because of some problem or other, so he looks about 8–I was really confused my first Sunday when he was passing the sacrament!) said something amusing. We were discussing emotions and we were having students say what a Korean word was in English. This one time the word we were looking for was “tear.” No one seemed to know what it was, when suddenly this boy said “I know, I know!!!” He translated the Korean directly into English, except he had his body parts a little confused. So he shouted out “ear water!” Ahhh. So funny and cute.

English class is so fun. The people who come are certainly an interesting mix. Hilariousity almost always ensues. Every English class in some way or other feels like an episode from “Around the Wardin 80 Days.”

There was another English class story I was going to tell, but it would take too long. Remind me when I get home–key words “Bow staff, English class.” SO funny. And awkard.

This week has been really cold. On Thursday when we went out proselyting, I wore: two shirts, a sweater, a jacket, my full length coat, a scarf, my skirt, a slip , thermals and tights. Forget the Michelin man, I looked like the blimp. And I was still cold. But the gospel light warms us all, so it was okay. (That was way cheesy,sorry).

Transfer calls this week. I’m praying to stay in Daegu with Sister Choo.

I love you all. The gospel is true! I promise you it is!

Oh, and we are still having a baptism this Saturday!!!!!!!!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

