Baptism

This past Saturday, our investigator 김민지 received the ordinances of baptism and confirmation!  Elder Claflin, who got transferred today, baptized her and she was confirmed by our first counselor on Sunday.  The Elders had a baptism for their investigator at the same time.  I don’t know his actual name, but everyone just calls him Rolex (pretty thug, I know).
 
Man, I’ve been tryin to add a picture, but it just isn’t working.
 
So last week, we spent most of our time trying to get ready for the baptismal service.  We called our ward mission leader to make a program, but he told us there was no program, he was just doing everything himself.  Um….ok.
 
There were some interesting problems, like an adventure that had us traveling all over the Daegu subways trying to track down appropriate baptism clothing for a sister (our church had a short sleeved moo-moo-esque type of thing that would have been waaaaay too short on Min-Chee.)  We filled the font, set up the chairs and then waited.  Our ward mission leader showed up and about half an hour before the service told me and Elder Claflin that we had to do a musical number.  He was laughing so we thought it was joking. . .
 
Then the service started.  He announced the program ( I had to bear a “special” testimony”–thanks for the heads up) and lo and behold, he announced that Elder Claflin and I would be doing a musical number.  After the prayer, we just kind of looked at each other, shrugged and bowed to the inevitable will of our ward mission leader.  We decided that Elder Claflin would sing “Baptism” from the children’s song book and I would accompany him.  I had played the first chord when our WML stopped us and said that Elder Randoph had to sing too.  It was by no means the best musical number ever.  I made it through on piano, but i messed up the last chord.  Oops.
 
Everything else went fine.  Except the fact that the baptism water (whenever we opened the doors to check the level, steam would roll off) was freezing.  I thought Min-Chee would die, she was shaking so much.  But she survived and bore a sweet testimony.
 
I would love to say more and give you all the details–maybe I will be able to next week–but I have to leave two minutes ago to catch a train back to Daegu, where it is snowing.
 
The work is sweet.  The gospel is true.  We can do better.
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

