The Miracle of Conversion

I have negative ten minutes to write this, as Sister Choo and I have to get to an amusement park. We have a zone activity there.  Not exactly how I want to spend my last P-day in Daegu (I’m positive I’ll be transferred on Monday), nor how I want to spend my time, but oh, well.

Because of this, I am wearing jeans. It is weird. In our mission, unless we are doing an activity that specifically requires that you wear other clothes, we wear regular proselyting clothes on P-day.  So I haven’t worn jeans since December when we went ice-skating. It is
weird. And kind of uncomfortable.

Anyway, because I turned 25 this week, I kind of had a quarter-life crisis.  I spent a lot of time thinking back on my life. A little melancholy.  I was thinking about the things that I had accomplished or hadn’t accomplished.  I then began thinking about what the single
greatest thing that I had done in my life was. It wasn’t hard.

The answer is Min-Jee. As in, the girl we taught who was baptized in February. I didn’t do much–she was so well-prepared by the Lord–but if not for missionaries teaching her, she would never have been able to join the Church.  And she didn’t just join the Church, she converted.  As in, this isn’t something superficial, it is her life.  She comes to church, she attends institute, she teaches her part in Gospel Principles, she spends time with church members, she gives birthday presents and birthday cards to missionaries (or maybe
just me).  She reads the scriptures and prays every day.  She is converted to the Lord and His gospel.  This is the single greatest thing in my life–that I could be a part of her conversion.

Sister Tanner (of some general presidency) quoted her husband’s missionary journal in a Liahona article (from some time–sorry, I don’t have the info with me now).  He wrote: “Conversion is the greatest miracle.  It is even more wonderful than healing the sick or
raising the dead.  For while a person who is healed will ultimatelydie, the miracle of conversion can last forever and affect the eternities for the convert as well as for his or her posterity.  Whole generations are healed and redeemed from death through the miracle of
conversion.”

So, my quarter-life crisis was averted, because I have been able to witness this miracle, in the life of someone who has become a most-cherished friend.  Missionary work is the greatest thing that I could have ever done.  For this opportunity, I am so thankful.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

