A Super Date and a Kiss

As I’m sure you’ve gathered from the title of this blog, this isn’t going to be a super spiritual one.  No, my friends this is going to be of the more…interesting…variety.
 
Our investigator, the one who lives below us and randomly gives us food, orders us pizza, gives us clothes, calls/knocks on our door, etc. is wonderful and awesome and so kind, but not really progressing.  We try hard to teach her, but she is a little distracted and I think she feels that the two of us foreigners are something of a novelty.  Anyway, we had an appointment with her on Thursday at 4pm, which turned into a Super Date [Melina side note:  this is a reference to How I Met Your Mother].
 
We went down to her house.  She was in her pajamas, as is typical.  She then started changing in front of us.  Also typical.  She put some rice on.  She asked if we had time, I made the HUGE mistake of saying “Yes, we don’t have any other appointments today.”  I thought she was worried about how long it would take the rice to cook, but oh, no…
 
So she said, “Great!” and then said, “Let’s go to the market.” Sister Abbott and I were like, “Okaaaay.”  So we go outside (she’s fully clothed at this point).  I thought we would be walking the two-ish blocks or so to the market, but then she points at her car.  I dunno, maybe she wanted to buy a lot of food?  So we get in.  And then she drives.  And keeps driving.  And leaves the city (but our area covers a lot of countryside and a few other small towns, so this was weird, but acceptable).  And we start driving along the coast, until we get to a vantage point that has a little restaurant/market.

“Okay, this is an interesting market, but whatever,”  I thought as we got out of the car.  We go to the market and she tells us to each get a drink.  Like a can of juice.  So we do, but it is kind of strange that we drove that far out just for juice.  After she buys it for us (I tried to pay, but she wouldn’t let me) we go to the vantage point and look at the mounted binocular things.  It was really pretty.  She took pictures of Sister Abbott and me in front of the ocean.  Then she had strangers take pictures of all of us.  Then we got back in the car. 
 
And did not return to Jinhae.
 
We drove aways and then she stopped the car along the highway and had us get out and take pictures of her and then she took some of us, sitting on a stone embankment in front of the ocean.  Then we got back in the car.
 
And did not return to Jinhae.
 
We drove to a small town.  She then had us get out–surprise, “I’m treating you to a Korean barbecue buffet!”  “It costs the same if you eat a lot or a little; so eat a lot!”  She kept repeating that.  And was forcing the food down us.  It was really tasty, but Sister Abbott and I both were quite close to throwing it up.  We were there for a looooong time.  Just eating.  A lot.  Like I can’t even describe how much we ate.  Probably close to a whole cow, a whole head of lettuce each, sooooo much kimchi, rice, kim bab, rice drink, quail eggs, deok, sprouts, oranges, etc.  And then she brought out the ice cream.  I couldn’t eat any and I don’t think that Sister Abbott has quite forgiven me for that yet.  And then we got back in the car.
 
And did not return to Jinhae.
 
We drove to the market, where we helped her with her shopping and she insisted on buying us a lot of food (which we gave to the Elders).  And then we got back in the car.
 
And did not return to Jinhae.

We went to a gas station.  And she showed us her other house.  Apparently they have more than two houses and an appartment.  They also own land.  They have money, somehow.  She tried to convince us to go to a Karaoke with her.  We, of course, refused.  She said that she would call up the President and get permission for us.  We tried to continue teaching about prayer. 
 
Then we finally came home.  And went into her house where we met the rest of her family.  And tried to teach.  And then we went home, planned, and rolled into bed.  Like literally rolled, as we were SO gorged from food.
 
We’ve sort of been avoiding her since.  I really want her to get baptized, but she is exhausting!!
 
Oh, and then yesterday when we were street contacting, this guy in his forties or so stuck out his hand for me to shake, which is rather unusual as women and men don’t shake hands in Korea (for good reason!!!), but I wasn’t going to be rude, so I shook it.  But then he grabbed it and kissed the back of it!!!!  WHAT?!  I was in shock.  Still am, really. 
 
At least he accepted a Book of Mormon.  We gave his contact info to the Elders.
 
Anyways, I suppose that I’ve had a rather romantic week, minus the romance.  I hope that all of you fared better than I!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

