Bad News, Good News, Bad News?

The bad news:  our investigator who was supposed to get baptized this week didn’t.  Nor did she come to church.  And she is no longer responding to our calls/texts.  We are ensuing the cookie baking campaign to see if we can help ease her stress and win her parents over to our way of thinking, i.e. “we are not a cult and we just want your daughter to have eternal joy and eat delicious cookies which you can’t make because you are a typical Korean and have no oven.”  I’ll let you know how that goes.
 
The good news:  our Vietnamese investigator accepted a baptismal date!!!  The 27th of May!!!!  She said that she needs baptism because she is sad and wants to be happy.  Ah, I love her so much!  I need to study Vietnamese harder so I can help her more.  But she is praying and reading the Book of Mormon and coming to church.  She is so great!
 
The bad news?:  our Vietnamese investigator might not be able to get baptized because there is a possibility that her family opposes.  The greatest opposition is coming from her sister-in-law who referred her to us; who is a member.  She didnt’ seem happy that we had extended a baptismal commitment without first discussing it with her.  Like she was mad mad.  She said, “We’ll have to discuss this as a family.” And then walked away.  What?!  We thought you wanted her to enjoy the blessings of the gospel?  Isn’t that why you referred her to us?  She wants to get baptized!  I don’t care if you think it is too soon!  If the family, particularly the part of the family that is members, effectively stops or delays the baptism, I will probably ask to be transferred because I will be so, SO mad that I might not be a very peacable follower of Christ.  And I might go a little cray-cray on that family and revert back to pre-mission Juh-ne-sah from the hood and tell them what I think.  Which wouldn’t really help anyone with anything.  So, let’s just pray that they allow her to get baptized.
 
On that not-super-spiritual note, I love you all and I pray for you daily, my dear family and friends.  Thank you for your support and encouragement!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

