Sister Abbott and Sister Markland’s (In)Famous Butter-Free Cookies

This week was really busy and really good, but there was nothing really profound to share.  I have some thoughts about gospel topics in general that I want to share, but I’m still stewing over them and I haven’t the time right now to do them justice.  So instead, I will share a recipe with you.
 
The Koreans LOVE cookies, breads, pastries – anything of the sort.  However, Koreans do not have ovens.  Just gas range-tops.  Ovens are in no way a traditional Korean thing and I’ve only seen ovens in I think one Korean apartment that didn’t belong to a missionary.  So they love it when we bake for them.
 
However, dairy products are ridiculously expensive.  Like out of control.  There aren’t a lot of cows in Korea, so dairy is mostly imported.  For example, the American equivalent of 1 cup of margarine costs around 4 USD at our local mart.  That is ridiculous.  And the real butter is more.  So we don’t buy it very often.  Which led to the creation of this, our butter-free cookie recipe.
 
I am in no way saying that these are healthy, or that you should make or eat them.  You might increase your cholesterol or become diabetic from them.  So eat at your own risk.  I’m only saying that if you should ever feel the need to make cookies and have no butter or margarine, here is a viable option.

Ingredients:
2 C. flour
1/2 t. baking powder
3/4 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
1 C. sugar (plus extra for rolling the cookies in)
3/4 C. vegetable oil (ugh, I know)
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla
 
A note about the ingredient measurements:  We have American measuring cups, but our tsp/TB are not actually teaspoons or tablespoons.  They are in mL.  So I’m guessing.  Also, there isn’t liquid vanilla in Korea–it is powdered vanilla extract, so it might be a little different if you were using liquid, but I don’t know.
 
1.  Pre-heat oven to 190 C (375 F?)
2.  Lightly grease cookie sheet.  If you don’t have butter of cooking spray (like us), you can use more oil.  just pour it on a paper towel (which we also don’t have, so we use toilet paper…ghetto) and wipe it around.
3.  Sift flour, baking powder, salt and cinnammon
4.  Combine sugar and oil and mix well.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat until well combined (we don’t have an electric beater, so by hand works fine).
5.  Dump the dry ingredients in all at once.  Mix well.  Dough will be kind of oily and maybe un-appetizing to the sight.  That is how it is supposed to look.
6.  Roll the dough into about 1 inch balls.  Don’t be tempted to make them bigger, otherwise they will come out brown on the outside and uncooked on the inside (I learned this one the hard way).  Roll the balls in sugar.
7.  Cook until just brown – maybe 5-7 minutes.

It makes a lot.  You can also add some more cinnamon to the sugar in which you roll them if you want. 
 
So, there you go.  If you ever have to make cookies without butter, you now are empowered to do so. Not that I’m saying you should.
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

