Father’s Day and Unexpected Changes

Hello all! How are you? I am fine. Thank you. Do you know my father? If not, you are missing out. For realsies. Since today is the day set aside to honor the familial patriarch, I want to share some quick thoughts about my dad.

My dad is a powerhouse. He is the most spiritual, thoughtful, sacrificing man that you can imagine. He understands the true meaning of the gospel of Jesus Christ and strives to live it. He really is the most Christ-like man I know. He’s also really witty and funny, although sometimes he tries to mask his comic genius behind a facade of corniness. He is very intelligent, as well. He thinks deep thoughts and really knows how to ponder. He quietly shares his wisdom when asked, but doesn’t force his opinions or thoughts on others, just sort of quietly observes, takes note and then does what needs to be done. He is dedicated to the Church and his family. There is nothing that he wouldn’t endure or give up for either of those things. He works so hard and has endured many privations for my family. He is truly a provider. He works hard at his jobs and goes without a lot of free time or hobbies so that he can allow his daughters to do things like go to school and go on missions. And he makes it seem like it isn’t a burden or sacrifice. He just somehow always rises to whatever challenge is meted out to him.

I have a lot of stories that I could share about my papa–funny, sad, touching, etc. But because I don’t have a lot of time, here is just a little simple one that I think is very telling of the man that is my daddy. When I was in elementary school, my dad had a couple of paper routes that he did in addition to his other job in order to make some extra money. One early morning, he tripped and broke his arm. That next Sunday for church, my dad, who was in the bishopric, found himself in the position of not being able to tie a tie to wear. He was conducting that day and really needed to wear a tie. So what did he do, without shame or embarrassment? He wore the paper tie that was garrishly colored with crayons and was attatched to a big loop of larn. You see, his youngest daughter had made it for him. Can you imagine how happy that little girl was to see her daddy, cast and all, conduct that meeting wearing the tie that she had made for him? Yes, that is the kind of man that my father is. I love him. He is one of my best friends.

And now here’s a little segue to the unexpected….

Firstly, I may have accidentally told someone that I’d marry them this past week (more on that next week when I give a full accounting of my awkward relations here with men in Korea), but that’s okay, because I will in no way be able to fulfill that promise (not that I’d want to), because I got transferred.

What?!

On Thursday night around 9:15, you can imagine my surprise when the President called and told me that I would be going with Sister Wallace (who is amazing and I love!), who just got done being trained, up north of Daegu to Gumi. Why did the President call? Because we are whitewashing an Elder’s area.

You can then imagine my surprise a little bit later when the APs called Sister Abbott and told her that she was going to Changwon. They are closing Jinhae to Sisters. We sobbed. What about our investigators? Will the Elders be able to take them over? What about our recent convert? Crap. I was so sad. In Korea, when a missionary comes into or leaves a new area, they always have to give a talk. I sobbed through mine.

The cafe I’m in is closing. More next week.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Father’s Day and Unexpected Changes

  1. Jordan Pogue says:

    Hi Sister Markland!

    So get this…you have home teachers! Thats right, Sean Wolfley assigned me and Clark Tucker (the new bishop’s son) to serve you. It will be a little different, ya know with the whole not being in the same country thing, but this gives us an opportunity to stay better connected between the ward and you in Korea. Do you have an email we can contact you at?

    From your blog it looks like you are doing great!

    Jordan Pogue

Leave a Reply

