Such a Tease

Me.  I am a tease.  I tell you all these things about crazy weird incidents and then I never actually tell you the stories or send you the pictures!  So yes, you still have to wait for all of the boy drama that has doubled since Sister Wallace and I came to Gumi and our very male-dominated ward (about four men to each woman) just doesn’t know what to do with us.  But, I’m again postponing all of that in favor of the two non-spiritual highlights of my week.

The first involves Sister Wallace.  On Saturday, we’d been given lots of fruit and vegetables by the old grandmas who sell them in the open air traditional market.  There are these super delicious yellow Korean melons and we had way too many of them.  As in, we literally couldn’t eat them all before they went bad.  So we were trying to give them away to people on the street who looked needy or otherwise looked willing to take them off of our hands.  So after English class, we were headed back to our house from the church for dinner and we saw this guy with a suitcase standing around waiting for a ride.  I walked over to him said hello, etc. and then offered him these last two melons that I had.  He refused them thusly, “No, no!  I have so many at my house!  Too many!  I can’t take any more!  I have a lot!”  He was pretty adamant about it.  And then Sister Wallace gets the Sister Wallace look on her face and pulls out a Plan of Salvation pamphlet and says, “Well, do you have a lot of these at your house?”  Of course he didn’t!  So he had no choice but to accept it!  We didn’t get his contact or anything, but we decided it might be a good tactic in the future.  It was a lot funnier if you were there.

The second involves Elder McBride.  Elder McBride is the trainee of Elder Riser, our district leader.  Elder Riser calls us every night after planning to see how our day went.  On Wednesday, I was talking with him and I could hear Elder McBride say something in the background, but I couldn’t discern what it was, but I hear Elder Riser say, “I’m not going to bother her with that!”  So I, of course, insisted to know what “that” was.  Elder Riser begrudgingly handed the phone to his companion.  And here was the conversation:

“Hey Elder McBride, what’s up?”
“I just have a question for you.”
“Oh really.  What’s that?”
“I found this little tub of Skin Food honey (note:  Skin Food is a cosmetic brand here in Korea) on my dresser and I was wondering if it was edible.”
“Oh.  Yeah.  Definitely.  If you want to go to the hospital and miss out on interviews tomorrow…”
“No, what I meant was, would it be tasty on toast?”
“No, Elder McBride.  It isn’t edible and would probably not be tasty on toast.”
“Really?  You sure?’
“Yeah, pretty sure.”
“Ohh, okay…”

Shoot, I love these kids!  Sometimes it is hard to reconcile these nineteen year old boys that I view as my little brothers with the powerful servants of God that I know they are and can be.  It is amazing what the preisthood and the office of Elder does to these otherwise immature and clueless boys.  But shoot, I love them so much!

Well, maybe next week I’ll write you the good stuff.  For now I am off with Sister Wallace to visit  a giant Buddhist temple in Kimcheon with said boys and we still have to buy our hapkido swords first and we don’t want to keep them waiting.  I’ll try to get you pictures at some point!  Love you all.  The Church is true.  Jesus is the Christ!  화이팅!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

