Happy Korean Independence Day

This past Wednesday was Korean Independence Day. How did we
celebrate? With District Meeting, of course. Nothing awesome, though.
But after our district meeting, I had a special guest visitor. Oh
Eun-Seoh!!!! She was my investigator down in Jinhae. She called me
Tuesday night and said that she would be coming up to Gumi and would
love to do lunch or something. So after our district meeting, Sister
Wallace and I said peace to the Elders and booked it to meet Oh
Eun-Seoh and one of her friends (the principal of the school where she
used to work). They took us out to a delicious and expensive lunch at
Pizza Hut. Random, right? Not my first choice, but Pizza Hut in
Korea is so much better than back in the States. And a lot pricier.

We had a great time talking and catching-up. I love her tons; she is
straight up family to me. As we were eating, I found out that the only
reason that they had come up to Gumi was to see me. Wow! As both of
our other investigator appointments for that evening had cancelled, we
had a lot of free time. Since we had time, Oh Eun-Seoh was really
glad because they wanted to spend the day with us. But what to do?

We got permission to go to Kimcheon. In Kimcheon, we went to a
cultural park, visited the World Porcelain Museum (suprisingly cool
and interesting) and went to Jiikjisa, the Buddhist temple that we
visited with Elders McBride and Riser last transfer. We ate some 팥빙수
and some other Korean snacks, took a bajillion photos, drank the holy
“you-suffered-much-to-get-here” Buddhist water, received other
traditional gifts from the generous Oh Eun-Seoh, listened to some
gorgeous 대금 (traditional Korean flute) and, all in all, just had a
marvelous day. Aside from seeing my former investigator, whom I love
greatly, the highlight was watching said person teach the whole first
lesson to her friend. We just sat back and watched as she hit every
principle of the missionary lesson on the Restoration. I was super
impressed/happy. She’s still not ready to stop going to her family’s
church, but I was thrilled to see how much faith she has in the
restored gospel, despite her own struggles.

Really, it was a perfect day.

I feel like there were other interesting things about which I’d
planned to write, but somehow I forgot to write those things down in
my planner to remind myself.

I could tell you a lot of not really interesting things.

For example: A couple of weeks ago, AP Riser called and I assumed
that it was about our phone bill and that he’d be telling us to
include money in our next President’s letters. So I made some comment
about that. He said that it was $35 and I asked if that was for each.
He said yes. Crap, was my initial thought, but I didn’t want him to
know that I was stressed about it, so I tried to play it off all cool
and said that we’d be sure to enclose it in the next letter. He then
said, “Or….OR I could be calling to tell you that we don’t have
phone bills yet but that we have a referral for you from the Daejeon
mission.” Awesome.

Anywyas, this past Friday, we got another phone call from him–phone
bills were actually in this time. And he said “$58” “EACH?!” that was soooooo
much more than I was expecting to pay. But, no, it was not for each.
Actually, the base is $65 and we were under on the phone bill. We had
the lowest bill in the mission. He was just calling to congratulate
us. Punk. But nonetheless, we still had a little celebration for
being so awesome and saving the Church some money.

So, as you can see, the stuff off the top of my head isn’t that
interesting, so I’ll forego anthing else for the week.

Except for this from my daddy, which applies to us all:

“Just a few quick thoughts.

2 Nephi 32:3 Feast upon the words of Christ
Jacob 3:2 Feast upon the love of God, if your mind is firm
D&C 84:85 Treasure up in your mind continually the words of life
Alma 39:13 Turn to the Lord with all your mind
Alma 57:27 (The minds of the stripling warriors) are firm, they
put their trust in God continually

It is so easy to let idle thoughts fill our “idle” time. When we have
undedicated time, we should be seeking worthwhile channels for our
minds to occupy (and TV channels usually don’t qualify). If we serve
the Lord with our minds, we can feast upon His love. We truly feel
His love most when we are thinking about the beauty of the gospel
plan, the wonders of the Atonement, the sacrificial love shown by the
Savior. When we fix our minds firmly on these things, we draw closer
to the Lord; our understanding increases and our gratitude and love
increase also. Feasting upon the words of Christ makes feasting on
God’s love possible; one is a natural step to the other. And when
we fix our minds on the Savior’s example and then fix our minds on our
duties and serve as Christ would serve, again we are brought closer to
Him and become filled with His love. Words like pondering, recalling,
reflecting can seem like a passive daydreamy activity, but they are
not. Focused contemplation can lead us to powerful insights and
life-changing revelation. So feast on His words, my daughter, the
table is spread before you. Eat and be filled. Clarity and
revelation and a richer feeling of love await you.”

True words, Love you all.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

