Tears Over Gumi

So many tears.  I’ve never cried so much in my life.  Why?  It all started Thursday.

Thursday was transfer call night.  We had told our district leaders, the zone leaders, the APs and President Gilbert in our letters to him that we wanted to stay in Gumi together.  We begged.  We had some of the best stats in the mission.  Why would we get transferred?  Because, apparently, President Gilbert had revelation that Sister Wallace needed to be in the beautiful seaside town of Tongyeong.  Anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself.

So Thursday night we got home, tossed on our pajamas, and stared at the phone.  I had on a hoodie tied so only my nose was visible.  Nothing for a long time.  And then the phone rang.  “AP Riser” popped up on our caller ID and I started crying.  I answered the phone and he was only speaking to me in Korean, which he does sometimes, but I don’t really know why.  Anyway, I was already crying and he said that he was sorry that he had to be the one to do this, blah blah blah, etc.  He then asked to speak with Sister Wallace.  She didn’t even say hello.  She just said that she refused the transfer.  He told her it was Tongyeong.  She said that she didn’t care and that she refused.  He said he’d have President Gilbert call.  I was literally sobbing on the floor.  She hung up.  And called him back five minutes later and said that she didn’t want to cause problems and so she accepted.

We spent from then until now crying.  A lot.  You see, Sister Wallace is my best friend.  She’s my sister.  How can I be a missionary without her?  I still don’t know.  We’ve had so much fun, so many crazy times, so much success, so many hard times, so many in-jokes, etc.  I feel very, very alone without her.

Starting to cry again, so I can’t talk about it anymore.

My new companion is Nam YoonJeong Sister.  She is a Korean and this is her last transfer.  Sister Wallace and I call her “sleepy-time bear.”  She’s sweet.  But not Sister Wallace.

Our investigators cried, too.  Because Sister W. left.  One of our investigators, Park Dong Jeong (the mart owner) sobbed last night at their final goodbye.  He calls her his daughter.  He is progressing in the gospel.  How could she leave?  I may have turned a shoulder so he could hug her.  And they cried.  And I cried.  Crap – and I’m still crying.

Okay, this is ridiculous.  I was going to write a lot more about other crazy adventuring times and more, but I can’t, because I’m crying and getting weird looks.

Oh, but when we showed up to the transfer meeting, I was crying, so I missed something that Sister Wallace did.  I walked in and Elder Riser turned to me and said, “Here, here’s my other shoulder.”  I asked him what he meant.  He said that he was turning the other one so I could hit it, because Sister Wallace had hit him already.  Oops.  Should’ve reigned her in.  But I didn’t want to, even if I could have.  Not that it’s his fault, but he makes a good scapegoat.

Anyway, I’ll be more coherent next week when I’m not a sobbing wreck.

Sorry.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

