Typhoon Part II

Yesterday there was a typhoon.  We weren’t allowed to leave our house,
which made for a pretty lame p-day, but I did manage to write nine
letters, so I am now all caught up on my correspondence.  We were fine
here in Gumi–lots and lots of rain, but only a little wind and no
down powerlines or anything like that (that I know of).  So all is good
here.

I did not make typhoon cake this time around, but here is the promised
recipe in case you should care to try your hand at it.  I’m pretty
sure a typhoon is one of the needed ingredients, so I’m not sure how
well this will turn out for you, but you can try.  Also, we don’t
have measuring spoons at our house, so all measurements are
approximate.

–  In one bowl, mix 2 tsp baking soda, 3 Cups flour, 1 tsp salt, 2 Cups
sugar, 1/2 Cup cocoa poder and if you don’t have liquid vanilla, toss
in about 1Tbsp of the powdered kind.
–  After well-mixed, mix in 2 Cups water, 2 tsp vanilla (the liquid extract,
but only if you didn’t use powder), 3/4 Cup oil and 3 Tbsp apple vinegar.
– Bake for about 35 minutes at 190C (375F).

(It comes out really moist and doesn’t need a frosting, in my opinion. But
I’m really not sure if this will work without a typhoon.)

As far as interesting stories go, I don’t really have any.  However,
on Thursday, Sister Nam and I visited one of my favorite member’s
houses.  She prepared a delicious (and unexpected) lunch for us.
Before we ate, she looked at my hair and said, “Sister Markland, your
hair is getting really long.”  I agreed, but then noted that my bangs
were especially long, despite the fact that Sister W. had trimmed them
for me on Saturday.  She offered to trim them for me further – then and
there!  I didn’t really want to say yes, but I couldn’t really say no
without offending her.  So she cut them with a pair of craft scissors. 
(I now have very crooked bangs and look like I should be wearing
plaid and overalls with two pigtails and a missin’ front toof).
After she was done, she turned and the bang clippings that she had
collected on a copy of the Liahona were caught by the fan and blew all
over the food.  I felt bad, but it was pretty entertaining.  She didn’t care,
but felt bad for us.  We didn’t eat the food.

Maybe not really funny now that I’ve written it, but funny in my head.

Anyway, that’s all that I have from Korea.  Hope you are all weathering
your storms well, too!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

