Hot Dates and Shoes

Hello from Gumi!  I hope that you are all well and enjoying conference and praying that we will get a temple announced in the spring!  I, of course, haven’t seen any of it yet, so I am jealous of you all!  Despite not having seen conference, I’ve still had a pretty eventful week!  Including the advent of a couple of new investigators!  The work is moving along in our little part of the vineyard.  Thanks for your prayers of support and help.

On Wednesday, we had our ward picnic.  We got a phone call at 8:30 in the morning asking why we weren’t at the church.  We were confused.  We were then told to hurry up and get there so we could go on the picnic (it was another holiday in Korea–“Red Day”–although I don’t know the significance of the holiday).  So we booked it to the Church and piled into a van and drove north for about an hour and a half.  We went to the beautiful village of Sangju.  We hiked to an old Confucian college and got a tour of it and the beautiful countryside!  We were in our proselyting attire, so I’m sure that we made quite the sight.  I have lots of picutres, but I forgot to bring my camera today–sorry.  Anyway, it was gorgeous.  We then picnicked–a delicious meal of kimbap and cold pigs’ feet.  Actually really tasty.  You should try it.  We then went to the Sangju natural history museum as a group.  A lot of fun and very informative.  After that we piled back into the cars and drove to the Sangju world bicycle musuem.  Which was also very cool (albeit very random).  The highlight of the bike musuem is that they had a bike course where you could try out a variety of different styles of bikes throughout the ages.  Sister Nam and I rode a tandem bike!  Alas, there are no pictures.  Sister Nam informed me, before we started, that she “doesn’t really know how to ride a bike well.”  So I steered.  There were a few tense moments and some screams (on her part).  But it was a lot of fun!  Great day for picnicking and talking with the ward.  Not the best day for proselyting, however.  Also, Sangju is maybe not in our area.  I talked to the Andong Elders about it and they’re not sure if it is in their area or not–neither of us have members who live there.  So we decided to share it and call it good.  And thereby we didn’t leave our area without permission.

On Friday, I got a very strange phone call from the mission office.  It was to confirm some personal information in order to make my flight plans back to America.  Crazy!  It was a reminder that I only have twenty weeks left as a missionary.  Very surreal.  But still so much work left to do!

On Friday night after we were done planning, Sister Nam suddenly turned to me and asked, in Korean, “Facebook is spelled f-o-r-k, right?”  I almost died laughing.  Granted I didn’t, but I wanted to laugh out loud!!  But she almost never laughs at my daily Korean blunders, so I refrained and wrote it down for her.  She is adorable.

On Sunday night, we had a dinner appointment with some members.  We’d stopped by our house to grab a message card for them.  Anytime you enter a house (and even some public buildings) in Korea, you take off your shoes.  So I had done that when we came home.  We were pressed for time so we grabbed the card and booked it out.  We were walking quite briskly and something just felt wrong about my feet.  So I looked down and discovered to my horror–one brown shoe and one grey shoe.  Totally wearing mismatched shoes!  And we didn’t have time to go back home, so I spent the rest of the night like that.  Nobody said anything about it except for Sister Nam–we thought it was the funniest thing ever!  I was mostly mortified.  I’m not sure  if no one said anything because they were too polite or just didn’t notice.  I’m guessing that it was the latter because Koreans are generally pretty blunt.  Anyway, it was pretty entertaining.

The last thing that I wanted to mention was a hot date that Sister Nam and I have this coming Thursday.  Yesterday I called a contact that the Andong Elders had given us from a man who is in his fifties.  He was very sweet and wants to meet with us.  He suggested that we meet at a place for lunch on Thursday–“anyone can eat there for only 2,000 won!”  He then offered to treat us to said cheap meal.   I graciously accepted.  Where is this place where one can eat so cheaply, you might ask?  Why, the Gumi Senior Citizen Center, of course!  Haha.  So cute!

I love Korea and I love Koreans.  I love the gospel and the gospel in Korea.  And even more I love the gospel in Koreans.  It is true.  Love you all!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

