From Gumi to Gimhae: The Art of War

Before I get to the stuff that you are all actually eagerly anticipating (haha), I will bore you with other things.
 
Sister Nam is no longer my companion.  She is no longer anyone’s companion.  She is going up to Seoul.  I came to love her over the past six weeks, but it has been rough.  Not a whole lot of missionary work.  I am worn and beat.  But I definitely learned a lot–more Korean, about how I don’t want to be my last transfer, etc.  It’s really amazing to me how trunky she was, especially considering that she went home two transfers early!  That would be the equivalent of me coming home at the end of this transfer.  That’s crazy!  But she really is a sweet girl.  One of my favorite things about her is her hatred for mosquitoes.  She would spend lots of time wandering around our tiny apartment with a can of bug killer saying “Where are you mosquitoes?”  and then spraying the stuff anytime she thought she saw one.  I’ve inhaled my fair share of insecticide this transfer.  She would even stand by the windows and spray through the screen at any bugs that passed by.  It was amusing.
 
One of my favorite members 성유진 Sister called me up this past week with one of the funniest stories ever.  She is such a good missionary!  I want to be like her when I go home!  She has this co-worker to whom she is slowly introducing the gospel.  She told us that she is more interested in free food than in the Restored Gospel of Christ.  We have lunch after church every second and third Sunday.  Oh, and we have reverse schedule (RS, Sunday School then Sacrament)–that’s important to the story.  So she told her co-worker that we had a free lunch every second and third Sunday after church and that she should come.  The co-worker asked when it started.  성유진 Sister replied ten.  Ten until two.  Her friend mentioned that was kind of long.  So our member responded, “Oh really?  Well, you don’t have to be there the whole time, but if you want to get a good seat you at least have to come at 11:50.”  Haha.  Oh, so cute!  I love her so much.
 
Other things of worth–last Monday, I made apple cinnamon pancakes and home-made syrup.  It was delicious with a taste of fall.
 
So, transfers….
 
On Thursday night, I was sick and waiting for a phone call (or lack thereof) to determine my fate.  At around 9:23 the phone rang–it was the President.  (Note:  every time I’ve received a phone call, it’s been from the President and not the APs.)  After the usual inquiries, the President said, “Sister Markland, I know that I seem to say this to you a lot, but we have another special assignment for you.”  Cue the cringes.  (My thoughts–what rough area and/or difficult companion am I getting now?)  He continued, “It’s going to require a lot of patience and a lot of love.”  Great. 
 
In The Art of War, it says that you never have your best warriors teach–you have them fight.  You have your second-best teach.  So I’m not sure whether I moved down from first-string or up from third, but….
  “We need you to train….” Cue the world crashing down around me.

I honestly thought that I wasn’t going to ever have to train on my mission. I only have three transfers left and training takes up two. I didn’t ever really see myself training. I do not really want to.  I feel very inadequate and just….
 
So I’ve spent my time since Thursday preparing for my new missionary.  It’s really hard.  Coming off of a very emotionally trying and rough transfer like I am, I feel at a loss.  How can I bring a new missionary into my mess that is the current state of the work in Gumi?  I feel like I myself have forgotten how to do missionary work after this past transfer, so how am I supposed to teach someone else?
 
There is one Korean and one American Sister coming in.  I don’t know yet who my companion will be.  I will find out on Thursday.  So for today I am in Gimhae with Sister Brady (my non-trainer companion my first transfer), who is also training.  We will be here until Wednesday and the we will spend training days in Busan on Wednesday and Thursday before returning to our areas with our new companions.  Ahh!!!
 
We have a stake Halloween party on Saturday.  Each missionary team is responsible for a different game.  I’m thinking of bobbing for apples because all I would need is apples and water.  I already have a poncho.  We shall see.
 
Mostly, I am trying to not think about training.
 
One of my favorite missionaries, Sister McComber, also went home today.  I will miss her.  In better news, I got to see Sister Wallace and play with Sister Foy a little bit in Busan.  So that makes things nice.  And I know that I will work hard in Gimhae with Sister Brady for the next couple of days.  So I’m hoping that will act as a detox.
 
 
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

