Introducing…

Before I get to the new companion and training and all that, I want to start off with the miracles of my time with Sister Brady in Gimhae. 
 
On Monday night after P-day was over, we had about two hours to proselyte.  We set a goal in faith of getting 10 contacts (name/number).  We prayed and left the house.  We were walking just outside of the house and we passed a restaurant.  There was a couple standing outside of the restaurant and we passed them.  I stopped a little down the street and whispered to Sister Brady that they were Vietnamese and that I knew that because of our investigator from Jinhae.  So we waited for them to catch up with us and I greeted them in Vietnamese and we talked a little bit but they were not interested at all.  However, because of that, Sister Brady said, “This is really weird, but we have a Vietnamese Book of Mormon in our house right now and I feel like we should go back and get it.”  On the way back, she explained how a couple of weeks ago she and her companion had been on a bus and had met a Vietnamese man who had wanted to meet with them again, so they had obtained some materials for him, but then he had no-showed their lesson.  So she had a Vietnamese BoM lying around her house. 
 
We grabbed it and headed back out.  We passed by that same restaurant and I told her we needed to go back.  I just felt like we should.  So we did and as soon as I got there I told her that it wasn’t right and we should keep going.  So we walked by it again and kept going.  But I just had this feeling.  So I apologized and walked back again–to the place beside the restaurant where two women were making oil to sell.  I talked to them and was just up-front about how we had passed by three times now, and that I just felt like I needed to come and talk to them.  The one woman who engaged in conversation with us was Catholic and she was interested in eternal families.  I testified and she agreed to meet with the Sisters again.  We got her contact, said a prayer of gratitude and kept going.
 
The whole evening was like that.  We were so directed by the Spirit.  Bouncing back and forth, here and there, in seemingly random paths – but we got four more contacts.  Each time we prayed with gratitude and asked for more.  It was a quarter til nine and Sister Brady said that she wanted to go back to this one bus stop.  So we did.  We were going to cross the street, but we saw these two middle schoolers, so we started walking towards them.  They weren’t interested.  But we kept walking that way.  We saw a man who was about 35 and said hello to him (in Korean).  He responded with a “hello,” but in English.  He had already passed us, but I stopped on the sidewalk and told him that he had great English (a typical conversation for us in Korea).  He then walked back up the street to where we were and the first words out of his mouth were, “I’m from Vietnam.”  Sister Brady and I couldn’t look at each other.  We were both kind of crying as we told him that we’d been looking for him all night and that we had a gift for him.  He is a university student getting his masters in microbiology.  He was headed to his lab.  We introduced the Church and gave him the BoM.  We testified about it.  He siad that he had a roommate who was also from Vietnam who had been looking for a church.  He wanted us to go back with him to his apartment right then and there.  We told him that we couldn’t, etc., but we set up a return appointment.  It was so amazing.
 
The next day we had some appointments, etc. and only had three hours for proselyting.  But we were shooting for the stars and rolling high on faith.  So we set a goal for 21 contacts.  We were blessed with 40.  It was a miraculous time that we both needed as we had both had very rough transfers and were not sure how we could train, as emotionally battered and bruised as we both were.  It was a definite faith-builder.
 
At different times during the training days we both had to have little tete-a-tetes with President and Sister Gilbert as we were crying messes and didn’t know how we could train.  But we can, could, and are.  It’s amazing just how much Heavenly Father can do with the weak things of the earth.
 
So.  Introducing my new companion:
 
Sister Kenna Louise McKay!!!!!  If this were a book, I would title it “Kenna Louise McKay:  A Classy Lady.”  Because she is.  I love her to death.  She is a heavy machinery operator (she drives tanks) for the US Army (Seargent McKay), she is studying animation in college, plays rugby, but is beautiful and sweet.  I cannot begin to tell you how much I love her and what a great blessing she is in my life.  We are having so much fun!  But right now we have to run to the immigration office so that we don’t get deported, so…sorry!  More on her later!  She is awesome!
 
Also, birthday wishes to Whitney Thompson, Megan Wixom and Lane Deines this week–who all would have received a card if I had their addresses.  So happy birthday!  And for the rest of you–take this as a cautionary tale:  if you want a Korean birthday card, write me letters!  Haha.  Love you all!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

