100 Days and Counting…

Countdowns are kind of cool (David Letterman, anyone?) and can be useful (taking a picture) and can sometimes even result in awesome things (rocket launches).  However, when you are a missionary and the coming week brings with it the “100 Days Left of Your Mission Mark”, countdowns are terrifying.  Yes, as of this week, I only have 100 days–just over three months–of being a full time missionary.
Sick, right?  
And I don’t mean that in a good way like, “Hey, that song is so sick,” I mean it in an I-want-to-vomit kind of way.
Where has the time gone?
I don’t want to go back to America.  I don’t want to not be a missionary.  I don’t want to have to figure out what I am doing with my life.  But then at the same time, I do want all of those things, too.  Why is life so hard?!  It amazes me how we can be filled with so many contradicting thoughts, feelings, and emotions (are feelings and emotions different?  I am not sure about that.  Someone please clarify?) at the same time.  It’s rough.
And there is still so much work to do.

This past week, we were very blessed here in Gumi.  We received four new investigators!  Three of whom came to our ward music night on Saturday (all of whom stayed even after my companion and I sang a duet–which shows just how prepared they are as investigators, because it was bad enough that even I wanted to leave). One of them came to church on Sunday.  And one of them agreed to be baptized, but has not yet accepted a date.  But we are shooting for the 8th of December!  It was just such a good week!
And then this coming week, we have two appointments with people we met this last week in sort of miraculous circumstances.
The first happened on Wednesday.  It was the evening time and Sister McKay and I were booking it to meet a less-active Sister who was taking us out to dinner and then to see a traditional Korean dance (which was awesome).  As we were hoofing it, we passed a bus stop where a mom and daughter were waiting.  We did not have time to stop and talk, so as we passed, we said hello and I said, “It’s super cold, right?” and then we told them to have a good night and kept on our merry, freezing way.  Well, we arrive early at the place where we are supposed to meet our less-active sister.  So we are sitting on a bench outside.  As we are sitting there, this woman from the bus stop comes up to us (this is about 45 minutes later, as it was a long walk).  She had said that she had taken the bus home but had been thinking about us and then had thought she had seen us so tried to follow us but then had lost us, but then there we were sitting outside.  She said that she was impressed with our Korean and recognized us as Americans and said that she wanted to be friends.  We told her that we would love to be her friends, but that we were missionaries and would love even more to be able to teach her the restored gospel!  She agreed to listen and we are meeting with her on Wednesday!

Then on thursday, we were out proselyting in the cold.  We had crossed the street and I saw this man in his fifties or sixties.  We passed him, but I looked back and saw that he was staring at us.  I kept walking.  but I felt like we should go back.  So I told Sister McKay.  So we turned around and went back.  But the light changed and he crossed the street.  I was ready to let it drop there–I didn’t want to be a creeper who was chasing him across the street.  I was mad at myself that I hadn’t gone back sooner.  I told Sister McKay this.  She said that if I felt we should talk to him, then we should, even if it looked creepy.  Well, by this point the light had long since changed.  But we decided to try and track him anyway.  We waited at the light and then ran across the street. He was nowhere in sight.  We looked around and couldn’t see him.  And I was super bummed.  But then, he came out of a store right next to us.  We went up, introduced ourselves and our purpose being in Korea, and he accepted a Book of Mormon and we set up a return appointment for this week.  I was so grateful that Sister McKay had made us go back. She is the best!
So, we are hoping and praying that all continues to go well here in the most beautiful city in the most beautiful country in the world (second only to America).  Hope you all have a very happy Thanksgiving!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 100 Days and Counting…

  1. 최재원 says:

    와~~ 대박 you are gangster sister ㅋㅋㅋㅋ
    어떻게 귀환했어요??

Leave a Reply

