The Transfer that Wasn’t

On Thursday night, Sister McKay and I were anxiously awaiting transfer calls.  Sickly awaiting them, rather.  President Gilbert had told me that there was about a 90% chance that they would be putting Elders into Gumi this coming transfer.  I’d been begging him all of last transfer to let us stay–Sister McKay even got in on the begging action too.  But, the begging was all for naught.
 
At about 9:01pm, I got a phone call from our Korean AP.  The call went something like this (but in Korean):
 
“Sister Markland!   How are you doing?  How’s training?”
“Great!  I love Gumi and I love Sister McKay.  She’s one of my best friends.”
“….Oh…..really?  Well, then I am sorry to say that you’ve received a transfer.”
“…..Ah….”   (I’m already crying at this point.)
“Yes.   You’ve never served in Busah Zone before, have you?”
“No.”
“Well, you’re going to the biggest ward in the mission.”
“Geumjong?”
“Yes.”
“Ah, I see.  Thank you.”
 
The sobbing ensued.  Just me, not my companion was transferred.  I was so distraught and heartbroken!   I didn’t want to leave Gumi!   I didn’t want to leave Sister McKay!   I didn’t want to leave our tiny little apartment that was already decked out for Christmas.  I didn’t want to go to Busan.  I didn’t want to leave our little district of rejects!
 
I called up Andong (district leader’s area) to report.  Who knew that being a district leader meant having to deal with emotionally distraught Sisters, right?  They tried to comfort me.  Elder Quist played ukulele and sang for me and Elder Struhs tried to make me laugh.  But I was inconsolable.  So I hung up.  And did not want to start packing.
 
So Sister McKay and I turned off all the lights except for the Christmas ones and put on our one  and only CD (Bing Crosby’s White Christmas)  and layed down on our heated floor in the dark and cried.
 
And then around 9:40pm, I received another phone call–from President Gilbert.  He told me that while making phone calls he’d, gotten an uneasy feeling and knew that something wasn’t right.  He told me he needed to think and pray and would call me back in the morning.
 
Long stressful night of worry and tense morning later, he called and told me that he felt like I needed to stay in Gumi!
 
Oh, what rejoicing then ensued!

So I am staying in Gumi for six more weeks!  I’ve already been here six months, but I get six more weeks here in Gumi, with the same district (nobody got transferred, except for Elder Daniel, who is going home) and with Sister McKay!  Life is grand and perfect and wonderful!
 
There was more that I was going to say on it, but we are freezing in the heater-less church and I spent all of my time sending pictures.  So I must run.
 
Really fast–it snowed yesterday in Gumi!  And David Bowie and Bing Crosby sing a beautiful christmas duet together.  You should check it out.  (*Melina side note*  Here it is:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiXjbI3kRus.)

J.
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

