27 Candles

Happy Birthday to us all!!!!  Aka Happy New Year!  Tomorrow marks my 27th birthday in Korean age.  I am NOT looking forward to telling people that I am 27.  I will be glad to get back to America and be 25 again.  I already feel old enough as it is!  Shoot!

How are we celebrating, you might ask?  We were informed by our ward yesterday at church that our presence is required at the base of the mountain at 6:30 AM tomorrow.  For a sunrise prayer meeting.  That’s kind of typical of Korean New Year’s celebrations.  Greet the sun at a mountain.  Sister McKay and I are most definitely NOT excited about leaving our house around 5:30 to trek through the darkened, snow covered, icy streets with the freezing wind whipping our noses and chapping our lips to get to said mountainside prayer meeting.  They might need to pray us back to life!  Just the prospect makes me shudder.  So early!  So cold!

But I’m sure it will be spiritual and uplifting and crap.

Not much else happened this week that is worthy of reporting.  Had some scandalous conversations with men who are more interested in the gospel of Markland and McKay than in the restored gospel of Chirst, slipped on ice, built a snowman, got into a snowball fight with a 45-year-old, froze, went to church, got rejected (a lot), taught a few lessons, got lost in the boonies, got a Christmas package with some hilarious letters from my mom’s seminary students, talked with the family on the phone, made some living scripture videos with the comp, cleaned our apartment, contemplated cleaning further, drank more hot chocolate than is healthy, and slept on the sometimes-too-hot-sometimes-too-cold floor.  So, all in all, it was a pretty typical week for us here in Korea.

The gospel moves forward and we are freezing.  But it is probably teaching us some valuable life lessons and we will one day look back on the frigid winter of 2012 as one of the happiest memories of our lives.  Or so we keep telling ourselves.

Not much else to report.  Hope you are all warm.  Enjoy your respective birthdays.  Kiss lots of people at midnight for me.  Haha.  (Just kidding, mom.)

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

