Stupidity, Embarrassment, Pain

So little time, but so much to say!  This past week was one for adventures!  We had interviews/gospel study time with President and Sister Gilbert on Tuesday–my last regularly scheduled interview with the President before my exit interview.  Crazy, right?  It was good and we learned so much.  Today, in response to my last week’s letter to him, President Gilbert told me that our district was one of – if not the most – spiritually prepared of the seven districts that they visited last week.  So that is pretty cool.

On Wednesday, we went down to Daegu for another rehearsal for the mission’s Christmas party this coming Thursday.  I am stupidly being forced to play a flute solo.  Not my idea.  I rented a flute–for fifteen dollars.  So I will have it for the next month.  I think that I will also have to play at the ward Christmas Party, which is on Christmas Eve.  My talented and amazing companion drew the flier for the event.  It looks really legit.  I don’t know all of the acts, but I do know that the primary is doing traditional Korean drumming and that the Young Men are making a video using a green screen.  They really go all out here for Christmas parties!

So last week, I got a phone call from Immigration and was told that I had to go to the police station.  That was exciting.  (I’m still terrified of the police, but they are much nicer and friendlier in Korea.)  I had to go to the police station in the podunksville town of Waegwan.  Why?  Because I’d lost my wallet.  Koreans are very honest.  Someone had just taken it to the police, who had called Immigration, who had tracked down my number and called me.  Nothing was missing at all.  It was a great stress relief to me, who had been panicking about the loss of all my cash/cards/ID etc.  I love honest Koreans.  We had a nice time with the police, who were very kind and were very impressed that I could speak Korean!  I love the Korean police.  Still scared of them, but I love them.

On Tuesday, we had a dinner appointment with a member who decided to “torture” my poor companion.  I can pretty much pound any Korean food without a problem.  Sister McKay has not yet…acclimated.  So the pigs’ feet, intestines, tendons, “viscerage” (I couldn’t find a different translation for that–maybe you can.  it is called 내장 *** Melina note:  it translates as “entrails”), which tastes like 막장 (***Melina note:  translates as “face”) and is my favorite of them, and lungs.  I think the eating of the pigs’ lungs was what almost did her in.  She gagged a few times.  Poor girl.  I liked it all!  Korean food is soooooooo good!!

So on Friday night after planning, Sister McKay made some comment about putting glue on your hands, waiting for it to dry and then peeling it off.  She said little kids do it and it feels cool or something.  So we tried it.  And it did feel pretty cool.  I then had a super bright idea.  “Sister McKay,” I suggested gleefully, “I bet if we did the same thing on our faces it would feel really good and probably exfoliate us and leave us with shining smooth skin.”  She agreed.  Why are we so stupid?!  Seriously?  Doesn’t that sound like the dumbest idea that you’ve ever heard?  Because it was.  It was so, so, SO painful pulling the glue off of our faces.  And the best part–it didn’t even get rid of my moustache!  Seriously?!  I have to endure all that pain and then still have to deal with hair removal.  Not a happy camper.  But it was my own fault.  There may have been some tears shed.  I have pictures and video that I will share later.  But yeah, it was pretty funny.  Funnier in retrospect.  What in the world posessed us to do that?!

So, this next story isn’t exactly missionary-appropriate and I debated whether or not I should share it, but I think I will.  Don’t judge me too harshly.

English.  Is so stinking hard!  Oh, so hard!  Especially past tense construction.  Sometimes there are vowel changes, sometimes just an -ed.  It is confusing.  Unlike Korean where there aren’t any exceptions to the rules or “irregulars.”  So yeah, there is a possibility that I told my District Leader when he called at 7:30 in the morning that “although I was aroused I was not awake.”  One of the most awkward/embarassing moments of my mission.  SO much mortification on that one when I realized what I had said–about the same time that he and my companion (who was listening in) realized what I said.  The moral of this story is that the past tense of arise DOES NOT equal “aroused.” In my defense, we’ve been getting up at six every day this month in order to study more about Christ as preperation for Christmas.  The whole mission is doing it and it is kind of killing us.  Anyway, be careful when speaking English is the real moral of that story.

Hope you all have a great week!

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

