Last Transfer and…Everything

I had this really epic blog planned out, but I find that I have no time, so it probably won’t be as good as I (or you) had hoped.  Sorry about that.
 
Firstly, I got some epic letters today–my first of the transfer (as in last transfer)!  So, just a little shout out to Irene Smith, my aunt Sandy, Elder Robinson (who included he and his companion’s Christmas card photo), the Knights, and Joylyn and Kaylene.  Thank you all so much!  Responses will be forthcoming!
 
Well, I got transferred.  To Busan.  I am now in the Geumjeong ward, which is the biggest in the mission with the nicest building.  We also cover the Yeonsan Branch.  Very big area.  Lots of people.  And currently only one investigator.  So we have a lot of work ahead of us.
 
My new companion is an adorable Korean named Kim Sora.  She is super cute!  This is her fourth transfer.  I’m really excited to serve with her.
 
But…let’s not lie, I sobbed like a baby to be leaving my beloved Gumi and my beautiful Sister McKay.  But we had a great last week with lots of funny stories, appointments, and I received several gifts from members since I was leaving.  I love that ward.

Here were the things that I wanted to mention but now find that I have no time to elaborate on–I “felt up” a Presbyterian pastor on accident (he was trying to show me his prosthetic leg).  Our English-speaking-only investigator might have found his soul mate in the form of our less-active sister who attended his lesson as our member present (he even spoke Korean to her!)!  Ma asked me to be her bridesmaid if I can make it to her wedding in Korea.  Pizza School opened up in Gumi.  And one of our young-ish male investigators, in response to me saying, “I like your shoes” replied, “Sister Markland, I like your everything.”  Haha.  Why am I not this popular in America?  Sorry that I don’t have time to further flesh out these tales, but I must run.  Sorry.
 
Endure to the end – Busan Style!  Love it!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

