Geumjeong, Oncheon, Yeonsan – Oh, My!

Hello from Busan, which is oh-so-much warmer than Gumi!  And a whole lot dirtier, louder and bigger. 
 
Especially since we cover three areas.  That means:  three English classes, two weekly service activities, three area books, etc.  You get the idea.  Pretty intense for my last six weeks.
 
Yesterday after church, we were told that we had to go to choir practice (this is in Geumjeong).  There were more people at choir practice than typically attend sacrament meeting at Gumi (around 60)!  It was very surreal.  The church is gorgeous and Korean-sytle–we take off our shoes when we get in and everyone wears slippers.  It’s pretty awesome.
 
There was a whole lot more that I have jotted down to say, but my adorable companion hates (HATES!) emailing and thinks that it is a waste of time.  So, I will forbear from telling you about the most awkward/funniest teaching practice ever in a district meeting (it involves us teaching the APs–who were being a mother and daughter–about the law of chastity…oh shoot!), and instead, I will just close with this quote from our assistant zone leader, Elder Charles, who was in Gimcheon when I was in Gumi and transferred at the same time:

 

“Sister Markland, please do your best to not attract any more strange men.  But, if they absolutely can’t help themselves, at least try and teach them the gospel.” 

Words of wisdom to live by.

 Hope you all have a great week!  Hopefully I’ll be able to find more time for blog writing next week!  Love you all!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

