A Month From Today

One month from today your time, I will be arriving into the Seatac International Airport.  One month from yesterday my time, I will be leaving Korea on a plane for Tokyo and then on to America.  That is all very surreal. 
 
A month is really not much time at all.  It’s 1/18 of a mission and only a mere part of a lifetime and barely more than a fragment when compared to eternity.  It certainly doesn’t seem like very much time to become the missionary that I hoped I would become or to accomplish all the lofty goals that I had for my mission.  Time is such a precious resource, yet it is amazing to me how much of it I waste.  Not just as a missionary, but also in general.  If I hadn’t wasted any time on my mission, who would I be right now?  What greater miracles would I have witnessed?  What if I hadn’t wasted any time in my whole life?  What then?  But of course, we seldom feel like we are “wasting time” when we actually are.  And who is to say what is a “waste of time” anyway?  Wow, this is getting way too weirdly philosophical for me. 
 
So I’ll jump into a couple of funny stories instead.
 
Last week in Relief Society, we were talking about the Lorenzo Snow lesson.  I think the topic was baptism, but I honestly can’t remember, because we got waaaay off track.  Most delightfully so.  There’s this one somewhat elderly sister who is a convert.  And I don’t really know how we got on this topic, but she shared the following experience:

“Back in the old days, there were no baptismal fonts in all of Korea.  If you wanted to get baptized, you had to do it in a river, lake, or the ocean.  Well, the missionaries were baptizing a new convert in the ocean down near 해운대 and I was going along to watch.  They asked me to watch their clothes.  So I turned around and then they trekked off into the ocean–and the water was pretty shallow, so they had to go pretty far off–and then I just sat there watching their clothes.  They were so far out that I could barely see them.  Now, I don’t know if they were wearing baptismal clothes like they do today–I never saw any.  I just saw the pile of clothes that I was guarding.  And they were too far off to tell, but I think that they did it naked!  Is that how it used to be?  Did they used to only do baptisms naked?’
 
The Relief Society Sisters quickly assured her that they had probably changed into the white baptismal clothes and that she probably just couldn’t see it.  But, as I’m sure you can imagine, we were all just dying.  it was a lot funnier coming from her.  And a lot longer–about five minutes worth of story.  So funny.
 
I was going to share another “funny” story about one of our less-active Sisters, but I think that I will save that for another day.  It involves forgery, missionary work and lies.  I’m not sure if it’s more funny or sad.  But remind me to tell you about it some time.
 
And before I forget, happy birthday to the beautiful Tayler Thompson!  Sadly, I did not get her birthday card sent off in time.  Sorry!  I love you!  Hope you had a great birthday!

Oh! and also before I forget, two weeks from now I will be emailing late–on Tuesday instead of Monday, as the post office will be closed because of the Korean New Year.  Just a head’s-up, because I’m sure that you all wait with bated breath for the exact moment that Melina posts these blogs.  Haha.
 
Have a great week and see you in a month!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

