Three New Investigators and A Crazy in Disguise

Hello from Dynami Busan!  (That’s Busan’s slogan.  Every city in Korea has a one word English slogan–“Yes! Gumi,” “Smiling Geumjeong”–okay, so Guemjeong is an area in Busan, but the areas have slogans too.  I can’t remember what Jinnhae and Daegu’s slogans are, though.)  We had quite the week!  And quite the P-Day.  It started off with an hour-and-a-half-long yoga class with a recent convert.  It was very intense.  Shaking muscles, but the best I’ve felt in a long time.  Anyway, I digress. 
 
We were so busy last week.  Non-stop work.  I love being a busy missionary.  The highlights of the week were our three new investigators!  One who was a referral from  a Gumi member and the other two were a special treat.
 
On Saturday night, we got a phone call from a girl named GoDan.  She is Chinese but married to a Korean man.  Her Korean is limited and she has no English.  She said that she wanted to come to church and was bringing a friend.  She lived in the Yeonsan area–or so we thought.  She actually lives in Geumjeong and her friend lives in Gupo ward area, but the Yeonsan members aren’t letting them get away!
 
So we went to the Yeonson ward for the first time with them.  They stayed for all three blocks, we taught them a lesson (watched the restoration DVD in Korean) and then set up another appointment.  I’m so glad that we went to Yeonsan with them–that ward is so friendly and loving!  It was one of the best Sundays that I’ve ever had in Korea.  The testimonies were great and the ward was so kind.  And thanks to some inspiration that Sister Kim had earlier in the week–we actually had all of the pamphlets in Mandarin!  We had just randomly picked them up at the mision office earlier in the week.  Crazy, right?  (No, duh.  That’s just the way of the Lord.)
 
So that was miraculous and wonderful.

We then had an appointment with another new potential investigator who wanted to meet with us.  She had been given a pamphlet on the subway and was interested in meeting.
 
We met and it turned out that she was a missionary for one of the crazy churches here in Korea and just wanted to bash!  We, of course, did not engage.  We testified, invited her to actually learn for herself and then left.  It was scary though–the total lack of light in her eyes.  As in every time she looked at me I felt I was staring into black holes.  Way icky. 
 
It was funny.  We’d had such a great day and then it was like–boom! opposition in all things.  It seemed like the Adversary was just trying to throw something in our way to discourage us.  But it didn’t work.  It was like Abraham–we’d had the real deal earlier in the day–and then who was that crazy woman and where was her glory?  Definitely didn’t sweat over it.  Just felt bad for her.  And as we left, my companion turned to me and said ( in English):  “I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.  I have been called of Him to declare His word amongst His people.”  And then in Korean, she told me that she was getting stronger.  Before, when she had been attacked by a missionary from another church, she had cried.  But now, she was able to boldy testify and move on.
 
It’s funny to me, how often the trials that the Adversary tries to throw up in our path can just serve to make us stronger and an even better advocate for truth and light if we just let them.  The choice is always ours.
 
I hope that you all have a great week!  I will be home this month and in less than one more fast Sunday.
 
Oh!!!  And congratulations to the beautiful Bet-say and her mission call to Florida!!!!!!  That’s the best!!!!!!!
About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

