“You Ate What?!”, Korean New Year, and the UN

This past week was not the best for missionary work.  Not a lot of people want to meet the week before a three-day national holiday.  Or talk to you on the street, etc.  So we found ways to make it fun for ourselves.  Such as the further exploration of Korean cuisine.
 
My companion was disgusted with me.  And the Elders.  Why?  Well… we ate something that I will probably never again have the opportunity to eat in my life.  Man’s best friend.
 
Yes, we ate Korean dog soup.
 
There are pictures.
 
Elder Campbell, who pounded his, said it tasted just like turkey.  I feel as though it tasted more like if a cow and a pig had a baby and then you didn’t trim as much fat off of it as you should before you cooked it.  Definitely edible, but not something that I would really want to  eat ever again.  The side dish of dog intestines/dog lungs was actually better than the main dish, in my opinion.
 
My blog is probably now going to get slammed by PETA or something.
Oh, well, you’re only in Korea once, right?
 
In non-food-related news, one of my members has started a campaign to make me as trunky as possible.  She gave me a present last week, “Because you’ll be needing this soon,” she said.  It was a book: “Raising the Happy Child.”  Thank you.
 
On Sunday, Sister Kim got to call home for the holiday.  So it’s official:  for every single holiday where Americans call home, I had an American companion.  For every one where Koreans call home I had a Korean companion.  Sigh.  Even though I know that I will be home soon, it was still hard to hear her talk to her family. But she made me talk to them, too.  So that was fun.
 
We didn’t have any invitations for the holiday ㅠㅠ, but we cooked a traditional meal for the senior office couple, which they really enjoyed.  We also went with them to the Busan Museum and the UN Memorial Cemetery for the fallen UN soldiers in the Korean war.  It was very touching and powerful and caused a great swell of patriotism to rise within me for America.  I have pictures of that, too, but no time to send them today.
 
Shoot, I gotta run–I have an English class to teach in an hour.  Sorry!
 
Love you all and look forward to renewing our accquaintance in two weeks and a day (my time)!

The spread:

The spread:

Elder Cambell

Elder Cambell

My friend the post office security guard is over my shoulder looking at my pics–so no pic of me eating dog.  Sorry.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

