Humility

Hello friends and family from the MTC!  To sound like the nineteen year old boys by whom I am surrounded, everything is awesome.  Some things more awesome than others, but awesome none the less.  My companion is Sister Foy from Memphis, Tennessee.  She is 21 and was a nursing/early childhood education major at BYU.  She is Southern, cute and delightful.  She is so positive, she works hard, she is supportive and she is dilligent and eager to learn the language and share the gospel.  Since F comes before M in the alphabet, she is the senior companion.  This doesn’t really mean much at the MTC, except that I can pass the buck if need be.  Hahaha.  We’ll switch at week six.
 
There are six Sisters and no Elders in my class, which is pretty much unheard of.  My branch president, President Shin, says that it is because the Korean people are more open to women than men, especially foreigners.
 
There is a saying here, “English-speaking North American-serving missionaries come home having truly learned the Gospel.  South American-serving missionaries come back having truly learned the language.  And Asian missionaries come back truly humbled.”  That essentially sums it up.  Learning the language, teaching and praying in it is a very humbling experience.  But I love it.  I am so excited to serve the Korean people.  I wanted to say more, but I have thirty seconds.  So, I’ll write more next week. 

I love you all very much.

About gwenogjones

I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, serving for 18 months in the Korea Busan Mission (as of September 7, 2011). I have a fanatical obsession with Snape and the Harry Potter series (in that order), I recently graduated from university majoring in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations (Arabic). Prior to this major, I was working towards a degree in Jazz Saxophone performance; ergo, I love music. I also love reading, writing, painting, spending time with my friends, playing soccer, watching movies...the usual types of things early 20-somethings enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment